Captains Dinner Logo
to top
Rowing boats during Vogalonga race 2019 in Venice June 14th, 2019 | Landgänge

Venice going nuts with Vogalonga

Venice is almost like coming home. I was here already so often to go aboard with my dearest captain. This time he picked me up on a Sunday morning in June on the shuttle bus from Treviso airport, and took me almost immediately in a “quiet, idyllic restaurant right on the canal with food as at home in a Venetian family.” The food was indeed as promised. The atmosphere… quite different…

read more
Skulptur in Wachenheim, Pfalz June 10th, 2019 | Landgänge

The Palatinate: pure pleasure – Part 2

The Palatinate – a region of superlatives! The largest wine barrel in the world, the largest wine festival in the world, the oldest wine route, the oldest wine bottle and last but not least about 100 million vines and fantastic wine… Not to mention Saumagen [stuffed pig’s stomach], liver dumplings and the beautiful landscape…

read more
Facade in Weisenheim am Berg, Palatinate May 29th, 2019 | Landgänge

The Palatinate: pure pleasure – Part 1

A model railway idyll, pretty half-timbered houses like a string of pearls, vineyards as far as the eye can see, here and there a castle, a climate like velvet and silk, culinary delicacies from hearty regional cuisine to fine dining, excellent wines and hospitality that is unparalleled… That‘s the Palatinate. We were there again.

read more
Fritz and Ulli wine during festivities of Bambi award 2018 December 22nd, 2018 | Landgänge

Fritz & Ulli Wine – A Bambi for Ching Chang Chong

Two young winemakers, three wines and lots of stories. Fritz & Ulli tell stories with their wines. Exciting and amusing. The labels and names of the wines outline adventures in Tanzania, China and Thailand. If we did not know that the two young men are winemakers and not sailors, one could think the stories are smooth enough for sailor’s yarn…

read more
Green wine bottles December 1st, 2018 | Landgänge

Discovery tour Palatinate Part 2

Our crash course Palatinate continues! At the invitation of the Palatinate wine marketing association Pfalzwein e. V. we spend one day on the Palatinate Wine Routes: Six wine shops, 13 winemakers and an “Autumn Fireplace Talk” in the evening – the Palatinate from south to north, from Landau to Zellertal in 24 hours!

read more
timbered facade winery Borell-Diehl, Palatinate November 21st, 2018 | Landgänge

Discovery tour Palatinate Part 1

We had planned a hiking week in the Palatinate vineyards for long. Unfortunately, in 2018 we could not realize it. At the invitation of the Palatinate wine marketing association Pfalzwein e. V., we had the chance to experience a Crash Course Palatinate at the beginning of November: Six wine shops, 13 winegrowers and an “Autumn Fireplace Talk” in the evening – the Palatinate from South to North in just one day!

read more
Tokaj wine at Árpád-hegy Pince vineyard in Szerencs/Ungarn October 19th, 2018 | Landgänge

Tokaj wine tasting with Adam Varkoly

Our trip to Budapest also took us to Hungary’s most famous wine-growing region, the Tokaj region. There we met a young Hungarian winemaker full of esprit, Ádám Varkoly. If you think Tokaj wines have to be sweet and full-bodied, Ádám will quickly teach you a lesson. His winery Árpád-hegy Pince in Szerencs also produces wonderful, dry wines from Furmint.

read more
Gin Calamansi Fruits October 16th, 2018 | Landgänge

Gin & Calamansi from the Philippines

A small bottle of gin, brought by a very, very dear colleague on board set this story in motion: The petite Filipino lady handed my dearest captain a farewell bottle of Philippine gin. “We’ll drink it in the Philippines with calamansi fruit, never with lemon, Captain!”, she said with a smile.

read more
Hungarian Goulash in the kettle October 14th, 2018 | Landgänge

Hungarian goulash – straight from the Puszta

From Budapest we made our way to the Hungarian Puszta. If there is a “real” Hungarian goulash somewhere, then in Hortobágyi, a small town in the middle of the Puszta. On the bridge market (Hídivásár), which is celebrated annually on the national holiday in Hortobágyi, we found it. Here it boiled and bubbled in large cauldrons. And we brought the recipe…

read more
Red Bags of Paprika Powder displayed in Budapest's Great Market Hall October 4th, 2018 | Landgänge

24 hours Budapest

This rush was not even necessary during our visit to Budapest. After all, this was not a “shoreleave” of the usual kind. I mean, Budapest cannot be reached by cruise ships, and in all cases by river ships. But we were there simply on vacation, by plane. It’s our first time in Budapest and in Hungary. Invited by our dear friend, the ship’s doctor.

read more

Subscribe

Just enter your data, and you will be notified of the latest posts.

Captains Dinner Logo
to top
Ruderboote während der Ruderregatta Vogalonga 2019 in Venedig 14. Juni 2019 | Landgänge

Venedig im Vogalonga-Rausch

Venedig ist fast wie Nachhausekommen. So häufig war ich jetzt schon hier, um bei meinem liebsten Kapitän an Bord zu gehen. Dieses Mal holte er mich an einem Sonntagmorgen im Juni am Shuttlebus vom Flughafen Treviso ab, es sollte nahezu unmittelbar in ein „ruhiges, idyllisches Restaurant direkt am Kanal mit Essen wie bei einer venezianischen Familie zu Hause“ gehen. Das Essen war tatsächlich wie versprochen. Die Atmosphäre… allerdings ganz anders…

Weiterlesen
Skulptur in Wachenheim, Pfalz 10. Juni 2019 | Landgänge

Die Pfalz: Genuss pur – Teil 2

Die Pfalz – eine Region der Superlative! Das größte Weinfass der Welt, das größte Weinfest der Welt, die älteste Weinstraße, die älteste Weinflasche und last but not least etwa 100 Millionen Rebstöcke und ganz phantastischer Wein… Vom Saumagen und den Leberknödeln und der wunderbaren Natur gar nicht zu sprechen…

Weiterlesen
Fassade in Weisenheim am Berg, Pfalz 29. Mai 2019 | Landgänge

Die Pfalz: Genuss pur – Teil 1

Modelleisenbahn-Idylle, schmucke Fachwerkhäuser wie an einer Perlenschnüre, Weinberge soweit das Auge reicht, hier und da eine Burg, ein Klima wie Samt und Seide, Kulinarik von deftiger Regionalküche bis Fine Dining, exzellente Weine und eine Gastlichkeit, die ihres gleichen sucht… Das ist die Pfalz. Wir waren wieder dort.

Weiterlesen
Fritz und Ulli in Abendgarderobe bei der Bambiverleihung 2018 22. Dezember 2018 | Landgänge

Fritz & Ulli Wein – Ein Bambi für Ching Chang Chong

Zwei junge Winzer, drei Weine und jede Menge Stories. Fritz & Ulli erzählen mit ihren Weinen Geschichten. Spannend und amüsant. Die Etiketten und die Namen der Weine skizzieren Abenteuer in Tansania, China und Thailand. Wüssten wir nicht, dass die beiden jungen Männer Winzer sind und keine Seeleute, könnte man die Stories glatt für Seemannsgarn halten…

Weiterlesen
Grüne Weinflaschen 1. Dezember 2018 | Landgänge

Entdeckungsreise Pfalz Teil 2

Unser Crash Kurs Pfalz geht weiter! Auf Einladung der Pfalzwein e. V. wandeln wir einen Tag lang auf Pfälzer Weinwegen: Sechs Vinotheken, 13 Winzer und ein „Herbstliches Kamingespräch“ am Abend – die Pfalz von Süd nach Nord, von Landau nach Zellertal in 24 Stunden!

Weiterlesen
Fachwerkfassade Weingut Borell-Diehl, Pfalz 21. November 2018 | Landgänge

Entdeckungsreise Pfalz Teil 1

Eine Wanderwoche in den pfälzischen Weinbergen hatten wir geplant. Leider ließ sich das 2018 terminlich nicht realisieren. Auf Einladung der Pfalzwein e. V. haben wir stattdessen Anfang November sozusagen einen Crash-Kurs Pfalz erleben dürfen: Sechs Vinotheken, 13 Winzer und ein „Herbstliches Kamingespräch“ am Abend – die Pfalz von Süd nach Nord in nur einem Tag!

Weiterlesen
Tokaj Wein im Weinkeller Árpád-hegy Pince in Szerencs/Ungarn 19. Oktober 2018 | Landgänge

Tokaj Wein – Weinprobe bei Adam Varkoly

Unsere Budapest Reise führte uns auch zu Ungarns bekanntestem Weinanbaugebiet, der Tokaj Region. Wir trafen dort einen jungen ungarischen Winzer voller Esprit, Ádám Varkoly. Wer glaubt, dass Tokaj Weine süß und schwer sein müssen, den belehrt Ádám schnell eines Besseren. Auf seinem Weingut Árpád-hegy Pince in Szerencs werden auch wunderbare, trockene Weine aus Furmint gekeltert.

Weiterlesen
Gin Calamansi Ginebra San Miguel von den Philippinen 16. Oktober 2018 | Landgänge

Gin & Calamansi von den Philippinen

Eine kleine Flasche Gin, mitgebracht von einer sehr, sehr lieben Mitarbeiterin an Bord setzte diese Geschichte in Gang: Die zierliche philippinische Frau überreichte meinem liebsten Kapitän zum Abschied eine kleine Flasche philippinischen Gin. „Den trinken wir auf den Philippinen mit Calamansi-Früchten, nie mit Zitrone, Captain!“, sagte sie lächelnd.

Weiterlesen
ungarisches Gulasch im Topf 14. Oktober 2018 | Hauptgerichte

Ungarisches Gulasch – direkt aus der Puszta

Von Budapest aus machten wir uns auf den Weg in die ungarische Puszta. Wenn es irgendwo ein „richtiges“ ungarisches Gulasch gibt, dann in Hortobágyi, einem kleinen Ort mittendrin in der Puszta. Auf dem Brückenmarkt (Hídivásár), der jährlich zum Nationalfeiertag in Hortobágyi gefeiert wird, wurden wir fündig. Hier kochte und brodelte es in großen Kesseln. Und wir haben das Rezept mitgebracht…

Weiterlesen
Budapest Markthalle Paprika 4. Oktober 2018 | Landgänge

24 Stunden Budapest

Diese Eile war bei unserem Besuch in Budapest gar nicht geboten. War dies ja kein „Landgang“ der üblichen Art. Schließlich kann man Budapest nicht mit Kreuzfahrt- schiffen, allenthalben mit Fluss-Schiffen erreichen. Wir waren aber schlicht und ergreifend im Urlaub dort, mit dem Flieger. Das erste Mal in Budapest, das erste Mal in Ungarn überhaupt. Auf Einladung unseres lieben Freundes, dem Schiffsarzt.

Weiterlesen

Anmelden

Trage hier einfach deine Daten ein, damit Du über die neusten Beiträge benachrichtigt wirst.